Buy My Brother’s Book Redux: The Preordering

CastorFS

A while back I conveyed important information about preparing to buy my brother’s book; now, that glorious endeavour is ready to move onto the next stage, as the book is available for pre-ordering on Harmony Ink’s website.

This suggests an obvious course of action.

Here, read this plot synopsis if you need more convincing:

James Fisher’s memories of Earth are distant, replaced by the harsh realities of life on the planet Castor. As a “Half-Adapt,” James is one of many who were biologically engineered to survive conditions on Castor—and to labor for the benefit of the ruling class. Indentured to servitude, James has no way to defy or escape the severe caste system… until he meets Vidal Centa, his master’s nephew. The draw they feel toward each other is instant, powerful, and maybe even enough to move beyond the unyielding regulations of their society.

But not everyone blindly accepts the absolute power of the oligarchy. The Independence Society fights for freedom and equality, and since James shares in their ideals, he joins their ranks. Soon he’s faced with an impossible decision: continue the fight against the oppressors or choose the love of the young man who embodies everything the Society loathes. With a looming conflict threatening to tear the planet apart, James fears he cannot continue to fight if he wants to keep his relationship with Vidal.

9 thoughts on “Buy My Brother’s Book Redux: The Preordering

  1. Signatus

    A thing that’s been eating me for a while. It isn’t uncommon to find words, even made up words, that actually have a meaning in other languages. That is the case with the word “puta”, which in croatian it means something aproximately to “numbers of” or “times of”, such as “tri puta pive” means three beers. That is aproximate as I’m not the person from my family who’s fluent in the language. The same word (puta), in spanish means… well, slut. Funny enough, the word “curva” means, in croatian, slut, while the same word in spanish is something as innocent as curve, as in the bend of a road or a highway.

    Where I’m trying to get at is whether authors who happen to come across words that means something in other languages are actually doing that on purpose or, most of the times, it’s a simple coincidence.

    Was your brother aware that the word Castor means “beaver” in spanish? Or was it a coincidence? I’m simply curious.

    As for more book related things, is it going to come in e-book format in Amazon at some point? Or even physical format? It might be easier that way to get my hands on it.

    I wish him a lot of luck. He’s done the hardest, publish. Now each consequent book will be a bit easier, I hope. I’m getting into the publishing thing too, but in my case I’ll autopublish in Amazon and pray.

    Reply
    1. ronanwills Post author

      It’s named after one of the stars in the Gemini constellation (the other one being Pollux), which I assume has a different name in Spanish.

      I believe the book is ebook only for the moment, and I think it will be sold on Amazon, although I’m not sure when.

      Reply
      1. Signatus

        Thank you. I’m guessing then most cases are a coincidence, then. 🙂
        Much appreciated.

        As soon as I see it on Amazon I’ll get my hands on it. The premise sounds interesting enough.

        Reply
        1. ronanwills Post author

          Yeah, I assume it’s an unfortunate coincidence 99% of the time.

          The example that always stick out to me is the anime movie Laputa: Castle in The Sky, which sounds unfortunately close to “La puta” in Spanish.

          Reply
          1. Signatus

            There was actually a car, the Mazda Laputa, that was never sold in Spain. Other models changed the name in the spanish market, like the Mitsubishi Pajero was renamed Montero. With so many languages out there it must be ridiculously hard to find names.

            I remember once creating a character in one of my first books whose name, afterwards, I found out was a character in Dune (I think) or some other well known novel. I mean, it was a made up name, not something like John. I had never heard of that other book before in my life. 😄

          2. nonex

            Laputa is straight out of Gulliver’s Travels though, and there the connection is possibly intentional.

    2. Shaun Young

      It is indeed a coincidence! The planet the book is named after is (in the story) named after one half of the Dioskouri twins of Greek mythology. There’s an orbiting space station called Pollux, which is where the name came from in-universe.

      I’m…not sure what they’ll do if it ever gets translated to Spanish. Maybe they’ll just have it be set on Planet Beaver.

      And I believe there’ll be paperback copies available from the publisher, but it’s a small press so you won’t find the in your local book-selling establishment.

      Reply
      1. Signatus

        That is a very interesting bit of background. Thank you. 🙂

        I buy all my books in Amazon. The price at local stores here would not allow me to buy as many books as I buy, not to mention many of them are not that easy to find in my country. I’ll try to get my hands on a copy. I’m very interested in the premise.

        And again, I wish you luck in your endeavour. 😀

        Reply
  2. Pingback: Buy My Brother’s Book Redux: The Preordering — Doing In The Wizard | momentarylapseofsanity

Leave a Reply

